Whistles in different keys, the how, the the why and the Oh, my goodness! What in the world?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
mor.whistle
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Whistles in different keys, the how, the the why and the Oh, my goodness! What in the world?

Post by mor.whistle »

I have been trying to understand this thing ever since I started playing the whistle and I'm really frustrated by my inability to understand the whole concept, especially after all the material I've read here and elsewhere. Maybe, hopefully, one day I'll think about this and laugh, but right now I feel really lost and confused.

Another small premise before explaining my problem: I am a complete music illiterate, I can safely say that all I know (which is really a little) I've learned in the last few months while I've started to play the whistle. Thus if any of you undertakes the task of explaining to me things, keep in mind that nothing is to be given for granted, I might not even know what a note is. :P ;)
Moreover my words can and most likely will be inaccurate in explaining, bear with me.

So, here is my confused mind.

When I started playing I came to understand that whistles existed in several keys, some less common, but nevertheless existing.
This allows for whistle to span their scales from higher or lower starting points. So far, everything is clear, but then I learned that switching whistles in different keys does not require to change the fingering in order to play the same tunes.

This thing immediately confused me because in my ignorance I could imagine instruments to play in a different ranges of the whole spectrum of notes, but I would have expected that a tune that starts -say- with G-E-A in a D whistle (which is xxxooo-xxxxxo-xxoooo as you know), would start as xxoooo-xxxxoo-xooooo in a C whistle in order to play the same notes otherwise it would play F-D-G.