advice re DIY whistle material

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
grumpidoc
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

advice re DIY whistle material

Post by grumpidoc »

Hi, newbie here. Only playing whistle 6 months and already have WHOAD! It's great hearing the different sounds from different types / keys whistles (not sure the neighbours would agree!)
I have a wonderful husband who can make just about anything and is going to make me a whistle (thanks to Guido Gonzato's excellent instructions). My question is how much difference in the final sound does the material make? I know the fipple is the main thing, and that there are lots of variables like bore, wall thickness, hole size etc, but I'm more concerned about the actual type of sound.
To illustrate, I have a cheap tin D (maker unknown- horribly squawky till I fitted a paperclip mute, now much sweeter sound), a Parkes C/D 'Every' combo - easy to play and purer sound, Generation Bb - great tone but squawky changing octaves (yes I know that's probably me!) and a Dixon trad G which I absolutely love. So the 3 tin whistles although varying in chiff have the tone or timbre I'm looking for. Is that due to the materials or just coincidence? Can anyone enlighten me? He's looking to use PVC or copper pipe.
(Of course I'm hoping that hubby will get Whistle Construction Disorder and want to make many and varied............!)
Thanks for any help
Feadoggie

Re: advice re DIY whistle material

Post by Feadoggie »

grumpidoc wrote:So the 3 tin whistles although varying in chiff have the tone or timbre I'm looking for. Is that due to the materials or just coincidence?
Welcome to the neighborhood.