MK low D measurements?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Matt NQ
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Hi, I'm new to whistling, been reading the forum for a while, and would like to start getting more involved.

MK low D measurements?

Post by Matt NQ »

Hi, my first post here. Trying to get into low whistling, but it's been frustrating so far. I live in Australia, and just had to go through the very expensive (postage) process of sending a whistle back which my small hands with thin fingers couldn't manage, and then British customs demanding money because they thought I was selling it to the whistle shop! So before I buy another one, I want to get the measurements.

I'm thinking about an MK low D. Has anyone bought one new in the past year or so and would have the time to do some measurements. The measurements I need (in mm if possible) are:

- Space between holes 1 and 3, centre to centre.
- Space between holes 4 and 6, centre to centre.
- Diameter of hole 5.

I did ask MK for this info, but they seem to find this a difficult and unusual question. And I know some of these measurements are on the Pipers Grip website, but they're a few years old.

Thanks in advance.
whistle1000

Re: MK low D measurements?

Post by whistle1000 »

I used a regular metric measuring tape...distance between 1-3 is 76mm...distance between 4-6 is 75mm...diameter of hole 5 is 10mm...on mine anyway.
kkrell
Tell us something.: Mostly producer of the Wooden Flute Obsession 3-volume 6-CD 7-hour set of mostly player's choice of Irish tunes, played mostly solo, on mostly wooden flutes by approximately 120 different mostly highly-rated traditional flute players & are mostly...

Post by kkrell »

whistle1000 wrote:I used a regular metric measuring tape...distance between 1-3 is 76mm...distance between 4-6 is 75mm...diameter of hole 5 is 10mm...on mine anyway.
MK Pro, measured with a hard ruler.