Olwell flutes

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Stefann
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am interested into Uilleann Pipes and want to learn something new and share my knowledge. I hope I will have the chance to find here answers to my questions and I hope I will be able to help others. Alle the very best and kind greetings from Austria! Stefan

Olwell flutes

Post by Stefann »

Hello, I wanted to ask if anybody knows about the current prices for Olwell flutes and the waiting time.
I am an uilleann piper and want to get more into playing the flute aswell. I love the sound of the pratten flutes. Is it recommendabel to play a pratten if you are not mainly a flute player….because of the more air you need?

Thank you all very much.
Stefan
PB+J
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Re: Olwell flute

Post by PB+J »

Coincidentally just an hour ago the postal service delivered a brand new Olwell keyless Pratten in blackwood.

It took just over fifteen months from deposit of $300 (June 25 2021) to arrival (Sept. 29 2022), and was $1850 plus shipping and packing. Mine is a three piece with a silver slide and lined head.

So far I feel like it's quite a fine flute and I'm delighted by it, but it's going to take some adjustment going from my Ellis ebonite flute, which I've been playing for a few years now. It's a bit heavier and a bit more "polite" and responds to a different embouchure.
Conical bore

Post by Conical bore »

I've played a keyless Windward Pratten-ish flute and I now have a keyed Aebi medium hole Rudall-ish flute, and a keyed Peter Noy Nicholson type which leans more in the Pratten direction.