iPhone apps for U.P.'s ?

Oxymorons "R" Us
Forum rules
Please see forum announcement for description and rules!
illwinds
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

iPhone apps for U.P.'s ?

Post by illwinds »

I'm new to the world of IPhones and I'm wondering, besides Michael Eskins' wonderful apps, what other people are using their iPhones for that is playing related. Either a built in function or an app.
A quick search of the app store showed about a dozen different tuners. Are any of them any good, and has anyone found one with a just intonation option?
I think I've seen people recording lessons (just audio), sometimes with an external mic. attached. How is this done?
Fel showed me how he accesses his tune library on www.thesession.org .
All the best, Dave.
sam1993
antispam: No

Re: iPhone apps for U.P.'s ?

Post by sam1993 »

For tuning my fiddle I use omnituner. I'm not sure how well it would work for pipes, but I can't imagine it not working.
eskin

Post by eskin »

I use the Petersen iStroboSoft tuner on my iPhone mostly, but it doesn't support just intonation. I have to remember the offsets if I'm using it for pipes specific tunings. It's the only tuner I'm using when I play out anymore.
fel bautista
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Post by fel bautista »

I use iTalk as the software to record on my iPhone. You record it; synch your phone to the computer and it transfers across. Delete it from your phone and your done. I think you would run out of battery or memory at a concert/workshop. I use an iPod to do the recording at a workshop or tionol concert. The ipod supports recording when you use a Griffin microphone adapter. For the life of me, I can't remember the name of the product, but it is made by Griffin.
eskin

Post by eskin »