New Pressure Issue

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
thebrownwhistles
antispam: No

New Pressure Issue

Post by thebrownwhistles »

I'm new to the pipes, and to the forum. However, I've been reading through the posts for quite some time. Thanks for satisfying my hunger for the knowledge on the pipes enough to get a practice set! :D!!

Anyways, here's a newbie question. I've been working on sustaining notes and working on scales in thirds and such like I did when learning flute and whistle. I seem to have gotten my bag pressure issues towards the bottom octave, however my back D has a very uncanny growl to it. It almost sounds like there's someone playing a muted trumpet. Is this also a pressure issue or am I looking at a reed thing?

Back info, I'm playing an Aaron Setunsky practice set that shipped from Washington to Arkansas. Should I be factoring in the humidity difference as well?

Feel free to hit me with the newb stamp, as long as it gets Louis Armstrong out of my chanter. :)
misterpatrick
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: New Pressure Issue

Post by misterpatrick »

Sounds like a reed issue. Don't do anything but get yourself to a knowledgeable piper who can take a look at your setup. It's always best to have some who knows what's going on show you how to make adjustments. Gas money will be cheaper than having to buy a new reed if you mess yours up.
pancelticpiper
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Post by pancelticpiper »

I've been reading through the posts for quite some time.

I've been working on sustaining notes and working on scales in thirds and such.