Sore throat after practising the low whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Nathnainiel
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: While generally more of a violist/violinist, I occasionally play the tin whistle and the low whistle.

Sore throat after practising the low whistle

Post by Nathnainiel »

Hello everyone,

I've been playing the tin whistle and the low whistle a little since a few years back, though practising very little. When I recently started playing some more I noticed I get a sore or like dried out throat after like 10 minutes of playing the low whistle. Is this something that goes away with exercise or do you have any tips for altering my technique to relax my throat better?

Cheers!

Erik
ScottMaurer

Re: Sore throat after practising the low whistle

Post by ScottMaurer »

You're not supposed to stick it that far into your mouth. :P

In all seriousness, make sure you have good posture and blow using your diaphragm.
Vulpyne

Post by Vulpyne »

I haven't had that problem personally but I don't think you're the first person I've heard mention it.

Not sure what the cause is. Perhaps you aren't swallowing very frequently when you play? Try taking a sip of water every couple minutes. You could also try taking a little break every 5 minutes or so.
trekkie
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by trekkie »

I had the same problem with a MK Low D I used to own when I was taking a medication which caused acid reflux. I sold the whistle and changed the medication and the problem went away. Have no idea if either caused the problem but now play a different Low D several times a week without a problem.
pancelticpiper
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Post by pancelticpiper »