Tips for managing intonation using 150+ year old flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
est
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Kind of a beginner with a keyless flute and an antique wooden flute with keys. Used to play accordion back some time ago, but trying to focus on the flute, until I can get some degree of command over it.

Tips for managing intonation using 150+ year old flute

Post by est »

So, I'm basically a beginner with the flute and have owned my only real wooden flute for a couple of days. It's a french, 5 key instrument that was made ~1850s and restored by one of the Olwells. The other flute I own is a Tony Dixon tunable practice flute, which is basically a black PVC tube with holes in it! I've been playing on it for 6 or 8 months.

The PVC flute is actually reasonable well in tune with itself, at least across the octave with the exception of the c natural and even that isn't really bad. But the the E on the old flute is very sharp.

I really like the tone I get with the old flute, even if I have a really long way to go to get used to such a tiny embouchure and the difference in weight. But, that E is a real problem for me. If this is normal and there are techniques folks can recommend to overcome it, I would love to hear them. The difference is in the range of a quarter tone, maybe even a bit more so it's quite noticeable. I can bend it down rolling the flute and messing with my embouchure, but the changes required (at least for me right now) are so dramatic that I can't imagine doing it in real time with any success. It was like my trying to arpeggiate up and down on f major at a reasonable pace on a keyless...but, maybe people get really good at hitting half-holes really fast.

Any tips? I have a few days left before I can no longer return it. I don't want to do that if there is something I am supposed to be doing that I don't know about.

Thanks!
jim stone