The Whistle and its Modal Scales

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
hans
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

The Whistle and its Modal Scales

Post by hans »

I've written and put on my web site an essay outlining a number of the various musical scale modes, and how they can be played on a standard whistle, using techniques of half-covering holes to play flattened or raised notes. It is in three parts, from basics to more advanced, in a sort of progression of introducing more notes, from flattened 7th, flattened 3rd, flattened 6th, raised 4th, to raised 1st/ flattened 2nd.

I hope it may be useful for some players, who are, like me, exploring options to play more difficult scales like Harmonic Minor, Double Harmonic Major, Melodic Major, to name just a few. It might be useful for those wishing to develop their whistle playing into Jazz, by providing some theory with the whistle at its centre.

See https://music.bracker.uk/Music/The-Whis ... les-1.html

Happy to hear comments and suggestions for improvement etc.!
Narzog
Tell us something.: Can play several instruments at an unimpressive level. Currently most interested in whistling with a side of acoustic guitar.

Re: The Whistle and its Modal Scales

Post by Narzog »