Review: Phil Bleazey Rudall-Rose style boxwood flute in D

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
chas
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Review: Phil Bleazey Rudall-Rose style boxwood flute in D

Post by chas »

Some time ago, I posted a message seeking comments on Bleazey flutes, but received no response. So I bought one. I’d heard rumors of spotty quality in Phil’s products, but had had good experiences with him and his whistles myself.

Please take this review with a grain of salt. I have a few years experience with the whistle, and consider myself a good intermediate-level whistle player, but I’m a rank novice flute player. My wife and I have between us, though, several wooden flutes: a nach Meyer 6-key blackwood; a Casey Burns blackwood; a Sweet walking-stick walnut; a Thin Weasel cocobolo; an antique English 4-key boxwood; an antique Mollenhauer 6-key (I think it’s boxwood, but it’s a little darker).

I’ve been dabbling in flute for 3-4 years, and playing casually for maybe 16 months, since we got the Weasel. I’ve been looking for a flute that I can play and get a good sound out of in both octaves for some period of time (greater than 5 minutes). I found a very good fit in the Mollenhauer, but the intonation is just not quite right, plus the keys can get in the way. The Schultz is a wonderful instrument, but I have to blow my brains out to get a decent sound from it in the second octave. That’s why I wanted to get a good, modern, Rudall-style flute. I also prefer the sound of boxwood to anything else I’ve played.