Just starting (in many ways)

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Bravo6
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Bravo6 »

I am not a musician. I am interested in the whistle because I am creating a character for Civil War reenacting and thought that being able to play was "in character".

I am looking for sources of authentic period reproductions of whistles as well as sources of period music a non-professional would play.

I am sorry if this information is mentioned in other posts and I am covering old stuff.

Any assistance in any area is greatly appreciated. Also looking for whistlers in the St. Louis area.

Thanks,
Martin Milner

Post by Martin Milner »

Hi 6,

A fife would really be the correct instrument for an American Civil War re-enactment group, particularly if you intend to play while marching.

However, I suspect they're devilishly difficult to play, and very shrill if practised indoors; indeed there is a danger of damaging your hearing (so wear earplugs if you get one).

I've seen wooden Fifes in "The Whistle Shop", if you want to get one of those.

The Clarke's D Giftset (Whistle, Book & Tape) contains several tunes that mimic the sound of the fife and were popular at the time of the Civil War. The whistle has been manufactured since 1843, so it would have been around in the Civil War.

I don't think you'll find another cheap tinwhistle that has been in manufacture since the Civil War.

Another possible instrument for you might be a tabor, which has fewer holes, and is played with one hand, the other being free to bang a drum.

As you probably know, the whistle is just about the easiest instument for a non-musician to pick up and play, and highly recommended for the sheer fun-value alone.

all the best with whatever you go for,

Martin
It don't mean a thing if it ain't got that schwing
rebl_rn
antispam: No

Post by rebl_rn »

Welcome Bravo!