What (other) key whistle is best for Scottish tunes?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Linnhe
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

What (other) key whistle is best for Scottish tunes?

Post by Linnhe »

I have Ds (many, lurking in drawers and down the back of the settee) but I am really looking for an excuse to buy a new, lower and more mellow whistle that will add to the number of tunes I can play without transposing (I have very little knowledge of music theory and suchlike).
Zubivka

Post by Zubivka »

Wouldn't an A/Bb set be appropriate, and in tune with most pipes?

Else low F (or E...), to get the pipe scale + the tone below "pipe A"?
Linnhe

Post by Linnhe »

Thank you for that Zubivka. I saw Claire Mann playing an F whistle at a concert last night and I was entranced by the sound, so that might be the way to start.
Zubivka

Post by Zubivka »

Did I recently read of Alba releasing with no much bells (but whistles) a new Q1 in low F?
Colin

Post by Colin »

>What (other) key whistle is best for Scottish tunes?

Hi Linnhe,

whistles in the keys of A and G in addition to your D would
cover most of the keys of tunes in Scottish fiddle collections.
Have a pint for me in my old local - 'The Halfway House',
Fleshmarket Close. Heck - have one for yourself when you're at it!

Cheers,

Colin
Steven

Post by Steven »