Age at starting...why?

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
Jack Macleod
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Age at starting...why?

Post by Jack Macleod »

I noticed most people started at 30 and older.

Do you think it took most of us (I started at 28 ) all these years to mature and appreciate Irish music/Uilleann pipes?

Or did it take us all these years to make enough money to afford the bloody things?
Lorenzo

Post by Lorenzo »

It just take a lot of time to get things right...there's so much to learn aside from piping techniques. And finding a spare set, that takes a while.
Antaine

Post by Antaine »

money is definitely a factor. i became an irish music (and irish-everything) nut when i was a sophomore in HS. Know what started me? a fuzzy recording my grandfather made while at a Tommy Makem and Clancey Bros. concert many moons before. Been hooked ever since.

i played a little whistle, but i really feel my "gateway instrument" was violin, and a whole lot of irish tunes.

not counting my first practice set, which was a birthday gift, i have to work exactly 20 more piping jobs to be able to say my pipes have paid for themselves.
{][_||_______||_][___o__o__O___o__O__º__º__]]_]
         \\
           \\
tok

Post by tok »

I used to spend ALL DAY just to make one reed , and some few of my piping years were spent making reeds , as apposed to playing . But I can live with that as , I am not much for tunes , or for that matter playing the regs , other than on slow airs .
The time I spent regarding the pipes was time well spent , why not injoy somthing you love to do , and savor it ? Of course , there were some sunny days , when I would have been better off outside , as opposed to sitting making reeds . All in all , it has kept me out of trouble , and provides a life time of learning , and if the pipes are well cared for , they can be passed on to the next generation . :)
tok. :boggle: lol,,
fel bautista
antispam: No