Small children and whistles

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Evey
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Evey »

Hi, This is my first post, I've been lurking for a few weeks and learning an awful lot, and enjoying the site very much. I've been playing the whistle for a few years but with 4 children under 8 have very little time to practice and so still consider myself very much the beginner. I've always let my kids play with my inexpensive whistles,they love to play along with me, or put together their own little band, but on New Years Eve while playing Christmas carols with me,my 4 year old fell with a Bb generation in his mouth causing a severe gash in his soft palate. After seeing his pediatrician and several doctors in the ER it was decided the wound should heal on it's own. As it turns out this area is only stitched in extreme cases, which my pediatrician originally thought this fell into,but fortunately it did not. He has to go back to the hospital tomorrow to be checked,but in a few weeks he should be back to normal. But I've spent New Years Eve and Day seeing my son crying in pain on and off almost constantly. Im sorry if this got a little long winded , I just wanted to let other parents know, by all means share your love of music and whistles with your kids just make sure when a young child is playing one they are seated. A happy and healthy New Year to you all
CraigMc

Post by CraigMc »

Wow Evey,

Hope your son recovers. That's got to be heartbreaking.
Wandering_Whistler

Post by Wandering_Whistler »

I am so sorry to hear this! I hope your little one recovers quickly! My one year old son likes to blow into my whistles, and I always worried about this exact thing. He likes to do things on his own, but I don't let him play the whistle without me holding it, yet. Now I'll probably worry about it until he's 20!

Greg
aderyn_du
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8