Instuments for Carpel Tunnel Syndrome

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Dwight

Post by Dwight »

Hello,
I’m not sure if anyone remembers the musically challenged guy who kept asking for advice about instruments a few months ago. Anyway, after dabbling in everything, I’ve come full circle and I’m playing whistle again. I’ve also picked up the ocarina. I’ll tell my story with the hope it will benefit someone else that is looking for an instrument that doesn’t cause CTS.

Here are my requirements for an instrument:
1 Doesn’t aggravate my Carpel Tunnel Syndrome. I’m a dentist for low-income children. That's almost all the abuse my hand can take. I have symptoms if I choose hobbies that aggravate the problem
2) Easy to learn so a person with no musical training can get enjoyment in a short period of time.
3) Room to grow if I choose to practice for a longer period of time.
4) Reasonable cost
5) Portable
6) Able to play a wide variety of music
7) Able to play low notes as well as high
8 Has that intangible appeal that will make it enjoyable to play.

No instrument meets all those requirements. For me, I find that recorder is lacking in the last requirement. Also, the low-pitched recorders aggravate my CTS.

Mountain dulcimer is probably the best stringed instrument for me, but I do feel it in my wrist. And, it’s less portable than whistle. I’m learning it anyway, but probably won’t play enough for this to be “my” instrument.

Chromatic harmonica is great, but it will be a long time before I’m good at it.

Whistle seems to meet all my requirements except for being able to play low without beating up the hands.