Dixon 2 piece PVC flute help needed

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
piperman07
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Dixon 2 piece PVC flute help needed

Post by piperman07 »

I just received one of these flutes, I am a beginner on the flute.
I play the bagpipes, and wanted to get a good starter flute, to play in sessions.

I am having a terrible time getting anything to sound in the lower register, especially below A. I can get good sound above this, but as soon as I close the next finger coming down, I either go up to the next octave, or it just goes quiet. I have tried moving, rolling, blowing harder softer. Nothing seems to make a lot of difference, is there something that I am doing wrong? Also, it seems to take a lot of air to blow these, I play the pipes, so I know about taking a lot of air, but just seems that it takes too much.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Steve
Henke
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by Henke »

I have a Dixon 2pc, that I started out on. It's a good beginners flute, and I know from personal experience that they are quite difficult to blow embouchure-wise. I had a lot of trouble hitting the first octave myself initially but you sort of get the grip of it after a while. It's a difficult flute but the good thing is that when you move up to a better flute, you'll probably have a very good embouchure technique already. Also, the fact that it takes a lot of air to play is also an effect of your starter embouchure.

I'd say: keep playing it and good things are going to come out of that flute. It's not really a session flute though, the cylindrical bore makes it really difficult to play in tune accross the octaves.

Cheers
AaronMalcomb

Post by AaronMalcomb »