what humidity and how do you keep it?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Berti66
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

what humidity and how do you keep it?

Post by Berti66 »

ok I am new to the wooden stick, till now have been playing a dixon 3 piece poly but now hosting two wooden flutes (grinter and McGee if you want to know) and I want to give them the best care I can.

Humidity in my living is between 33 and 40 (in the netherlands) and I understand that is too low?
What humidity should I keep the flutes in and how do I keep it humid enough?

Berti
Steampacket

Post by Steampacket »

30 to 40 is too low. I keep my 2 flutes in their case resp. roll up inside a transparent plastic bag together with a damp sponge and a hydrometer, when they are not being played. The humidity in my flat in the Swedish winter is around 40 which is too dry. Inside the bag the hydrometer reads around 100, which is over the top I know, but the flutes are inside a case and roll up so it seems to work out, and I haven't had any problems with mold or swelling. I play one or the other of the flutes every day so they get out of the bag and used. I have two extra headjoints, a Wilkes & Williams that reside in a plastic box with a hydro that reads 65-70.
Berti66

Post by Berti66 »

where do I find a suitable hydrometer ......

berti
jim stone

Post by jim stone »

60 is good; 50 is minimal.
An option is to humidify your whole
house, or the room where the flutes
reside, with a humidifier.
These are reasonably cheap and
it's much healthier for people too.

I manage 50 during the winter
without trouble to the flutes.
The makers want 60, at least
the ones I talk to.
sturob
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by sturob »