Help! Fingering chart for Bb Tin Whistle?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
mkubit

Help! Fingering chart for Bb Tin Whistle?

Post by mkubit »

Hello,

I was wondering if anybody could direct me to a fingering chart for a Bb tin/penny whistle?

I am a novice, and am not sure if the different whistles (C, D, Eb, Bb, etc.) are actually tuned to play in different keys, or if they are just named after the lowest note playable on the respective whistle (or both)?

I found a fingering guide for a Tin Whistle in D and a Fife in Bb and D at:

http://www.wfg.woodwind.org/tinwhistle/tw_bas_1.html

but I have no idea if this would be appropriate for my Bb whistle.

If anybody could help me sort this out, I'd sure appreciate it!

Thank you,

Mike
swizzlestick
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by swizzlestick »

I think you need to read this article. http://www.chiffandfipple.com/whistlekeys.html

(The chart you want is about half way down.)

Amazing what you can find on the main page of C&F! :)

This will give you a better understanding of how whistle keys work, but
if you just want the chart, try this link.

http://www.thewhistleshop.com/misc/fingering.htm
All of us contain Music & Truth, but most of us can't get it out. -- Mark Twain
Denny
antispam: No

Post by Denny »

Dale has accumulated a lot of good stuff oner the years, ain't he!

In case the link was too much information.

Bb XXX XXX
C XXX XXO
D XXX XOO
Eb XXX OOO
F XXO OOO
G XOO OOO
A OOO OOO
Bb OXX XXX
C XXX XXO
D XXX XOO
Eb XXX OOO
F XXO OOO
G XOO OOO
A OOO OOO
Bb OXX OOO
mkubit

Post by mkubit »

Thank you --

Ok, please bear with me.. :-?

To me that says, a Bb tin whistle is capable of playing the Bb major scale, the Eb major scale, and the C minor scale.

What about the other accidentals that do not appear in those scales (E, F#, B, etc. etc.)? Is it possible to approximate those notes on the Bb instrument?