newbies 'n worship

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Kathy
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Kathy »

Hi folks, by way of introduction, I’m new here and have only been playing whistle for about 2 months. I discovered this board sometime in May and want to congratulate the folks who designed it and encourage those who participate. As a newbie I've had lots of questions, but I keep running searches on this site and have found that all of my questions have already been answered, sometimes multiple times. Lots of info here!

While I love traditional and am working on learning it - slow airs and one jig so far - I've also been a vocalist with a worship team for 2 years and am looking forward to being good enough with the whistle to also use it there. I've looked through old threads on worship music for ideas, but I've also been using two other pieces that haven't been mentioned so far. Both are great practice pieces for newbies who want to build their technique so I'll share them here. The first is "Balm in Gilead". I have it in G. It's a slow, melodic piece, very easy to play, but with adequate opportunity for adding ornamentation, especially fills on the long held notes. I also found that I could slide on the last two notes of the verses (G to Cn) by simply rolling up my index finger. The other is "Just A Closer Walk With Thee". I play it in D which is simple enough except that the first measure has accidentals and requires the use of half-holing on the G# and the A#. However, the finger patterns are relatively easy and, after practicing it for a while, I find that I can now hit that G# any time I want it in any piece of music. That just opened up a whole new world!

I would love to hear from others on pieces that are easy enough for newbies but good technique builders. Happy whistling!
Roger O'Keeffe
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by Roger O'Keeffe »