Sharps and flats...?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Clarke whistler
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Sharps and flats...?

Post by Clarke whistler »

If you haven't noticed from my last few threads, I am a newbie whistler, and still trying to figure out different concepts of playing the whistle. A Meg, specifically, if that helps...

Anyways, sharps and flats are unavoidable in music in most cases, so it would probably help to know how to play them. How do I make a note sharp or flat?
Tim2723

Post by Tim2723 »

Well, there are two important answers (at least!) to that question. First, sharps and flats can be played on a tin whistle by the techniques of cross-fingering and/or half-hole fingering. Cross-fingering is when you play a flatted note by fingering the natural note and then closing additional holes below it. For example, on a D whistle the note B is fingered XOOOOO and the note B flat (Bb) is XOXXXX. You can also achieve the same note by fingering the B natural and then closing the hole just below it slightly (half-hole). These are rather difficult techniques to master, and are seldom used in the traditional literature.

The tin whistle is a 'diatonic' instrument. That is, it plays the do-re-mi scale without all the sharps and flats. Although a given whistle is named by a specific key, it can actually play in two major keys, but it isn't designed to play all the sharps and flats easily. The tradtional music for the whistle developed around this limitation. We only run into the problem of 'accidental' notes (that is, notes that don't naturally occur in a given scale) when we stray from the music intended for the whistle.

If you're just starting out, I'd recommend sticking with the tradtional literature first. Take it one step at a time.
Last edited by Tim2723 on Mon Apr 16, 2007 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tim2723

Post by Tim2723 »