different styles of concertina playing?

We have some evidence, however, that you may have to pay for the reeds.
devilduckie
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

different styles of concertina playing?

Post by devilduckie »

I've poked around a bit on this board and on tina.net, but I haven't really seen much discussion on the topic of different styles of traditional irish concertina playing.

Say, something along the lines of the following for the flute:

http://www.theflow.org.uk/

Is this because there aren't enough distinctive differences in regional playing styles on the concertina? Or just lack of interest?

Thanks.
s1m0n
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by s1m0n »

I'm far from a expert, but I gather that the concertina-playing hotspots of pre-revival Ireland were fewer in number than those which had an extant fluting tradition.

As well, older styles played on whistle and pipes transferred, perhaps, more easily to the flute than to a free reed instrument like the concertina.

~~

Finally, how many ways CAN you play a concertina? Doesn't it have a smaller pallet of sounds it can make?
And now there was no doubt that the trees were really moving - moving in and out through one another as if in a complicated country dance. ('And I suppose,' thought Lucy, 'when trees dance, it must be a very, very country dance indeed.')

C.S. Lewis
rh
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by rh »

From what i understand, the only region that is specifically associated with concertina playing is County Clare. Of course you could talk about East vs West Clare, i suppose, or you could divide into more ornamented (Noel Hill) vs more plain (Mary MacNamara).
devilduckie

Post by devilduckie »

Thanks for the informative replies.

I'm too new to the concertina to have an intelligent opinion on this subject. (Not that time will necessarily help any.)