yes, I am a noob

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
Boody
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

yes, I am a noob

Post by Boody »

I'm a whisler looking to turn piper. :)
Iv'e heard good things about the pennychanter, are there any other good options?
I want something cheap, but good.
I know nobody who plays, or any teachers, so anybody know any good books or anything to get me started?
Thanks
Whistle Clips (Old, I really need to update these)
pancelticpiper
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Post by pancelticpiper »

I've seen a lot of people here with the David Daye chanters, and they always seem to play very well. A beginner I know has one that I've played a few times and it performs very well. Soft and hard bottom D are both in tune, back D pretty stable, octaves in tune, etc. He and others have had problems with what might be called the "air delivery system", the bellows, and particularly the stocks, which tend to pop out of the bag.
What I would do is get a Daye chanter and reed, but get a high-quality bag, bellows, blowpipe, and stocks. It's very frustrating to have an unreliable air supply.
PJ
Tell us something.: ......................................................................................................

Re: yes, I am a noob

Post by PJ »

Boody wrote:... I want something cheap, but good...
... any good books or anything to get me started?
"Cheap but good" doesn't exist. Stay away from the cheap because they are never good. However, a Daye's penny chanter seem to be good value. It'll get you started and you'll be able to sell it when you want to move on to a more conventional set of pipes.