D-minor pentatonic on tin whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Tenebrus

D-minor pentatonic on tin whistle

Post by Tenebrus »

Hello! I just started playing tin whistle a month ago, and have been enjoying it immensely. I have very little musical background, although I did wrestle with the shakuhachi for several years and finally gave it up (perhaps because I never really enjoyed playing that much). However, with my newly found (ok, extremely limited) skills, I thought it would be fun to try some of the Japanese folk pieces I learned. Tried one on my D whistle, and it sounded awful. A musician friend of mine suggested that my whistle is in the wrong key for that sort of music, and after some research, I'm inclined to agree.

I'm fairly sure that shakuhachi is in the D-minor pentatonic scale. What would be the best way to play that? Would a C-whistle with E-minor fingering work? Is there such a thing as a D minor whistle? I've looked at various sources and have gotten more confused (one source said a C whistle, another said an F). Help!
What is your name? What is your quest? And what is your favorite color?
Adrian
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Adrian »

Tenebrus, welcome to Chiff & Fipple!

I find it easiest to play in Dm pentatonic on a C whistle. The notes are D, F, G, A, C

X X X X 0
X X X 0 X
X X 0 0 X

X 0 0 0 X
X 0 0 0 X
0 0 0 0 X
Last edited by Adrian on Sat Jun 21, 2008 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jason Paul

Post by Jason Paul »

A D whistle is in D major. Trying to make a D minor scale out of that wouldn't work really. On the D whistle, there are a couple of "natural" minor keys (or modes here), that can give you the sound you're looking for. E is one of them (second hole). If you focus on making that note home, you'll keep that minor feel.

That's the long way around what Adrian said. Just do that, but on a C whistle.

Jason
Tenebrus

Post by Tenebrus »