Flute Practice Tips

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
igobarefoot

Flute Practice Tips

Post by igobarefoot »

Hey there,
I am a jazz musician by trade. (Piano/vocals) I got really into irish style flute 4 years ago and spent hours practing. The Irish fire went dormant for a while I practiced off and on over the last 3 years...but today I had the flute out and played through a few tunes and had a ball. My embrochure has gotten better, I am very excited. I have a very long way to go.

I was going to ask about practice tips. And do any of you guys play in all 12 keys on the wooden flutes? Should I be practing scales in all 12 keys? Or do Irish guys stay in D, G, A? I know these questions sound elementary.

Also, any tips on learning a tune? By ear, or by music? Or both?

Any help on practice tips is good?
MTGuru
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by MTGuru »

Welcome to C&F, Sean! Nice website, and nice playing and vocals. You should fix your signature line ( www.SeanDietrichMusic.COM ).

I'll let the real fluters weigh in ... But yes, Irish trad tunes mostly center around D, G, A and their related modes. If you're playing a keyed flute and you have the wherewithal (as you obviously do), excursions into other keys and chromaticism are interesting for pushing the trad envelope. As long as you're solid with the native keys. You'll probably find that stylistic and technical issues within those limits are more than enough to keep you both interested and busy for a very long time. :-)
Vivat diabolus in musica! MTGuru's (old) GG Clips / Blackbird Clips

Joel Barish: Is there any risk of brain damage?
Dr. Mierzwiak: Well, technically speaking, the procedure is brain damage.
Akiba
Tell us something.: I am an Irish flute player and whistler. I have been a member since 2007? This has been one of the most informative sites on Irish flute I have found.

Post by Akiba »