Hey guys new and have a question

A place for players of other folk/world music wind instruments.
mika

Hey guys new and have a question

Post by mika »

Hey guys

Great to find that forum!

I have a question I'll be really glad if someone can help me...

I'm new to the Flute world I'd like to buy A pan flute the same one that is on the Circle of life from the Lion king film... how much octave it should have?
Oh and if you can add a pic of the Flute it would be great so I will know to what to look for:)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vX07j9SDFcc

Thanks
Mika :)
MTGuru
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by MTGuru »

Moved from Flute Forum - Mod.
Vivat diabolus in musica! MTGuru's (old) GG Clips / Blackbird Clips

Joel Barish: Is there any risk of brain damage?
Dr. Mierzwiak: Well, technically speaking, the procedure is brain damage.
Tim2723

Post by Tim2723 »

Hi and welcome!

If you're talking abut the intrumental break, it seems to encompass a little better than two octaves, so a three octave (22 pipe) flute would be needed. However, I'm not certain that the instrument you hear is actually a pan flute. It sounds somewhat synthetic to me.

If you are planning to buy a flute and begin playing, I'd recommend at least a 22 pipe flute to start with, as the extra notes are needed to play in relative minor keys. My first flute was only 18 pipes, and I quickly ran out of notes. In my personal experience, there are two important rules: Always buy a tunable flute, and get all the pipes you possibly can. A pan flute can never have enough range. If I could afford it, I would have a 30 pipe flute.

Here is the pan flute section from the catlog of a popular supplier. It will give you a good idea of the different types, sizes, and prices of these instruments.

http://larkinam.com/category.asp?sb=&c= ... 0&x=19&y=9