Tin Whistle Tutorials/Books

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Tikva
antispam: No

Tin Whistle Tutorials/Books

Post by Tikva »

Hello everyone!

Now that my first whistle is on its way - a Dixon Trad - I'm of course looking for some instruction books.

I have already found a great number of online tutorials, but seeing that a computer is not always available, I wish to purchase a book, too.

Maybe you could recommend some to me?

As it is I know how to read notes already, but I'm a complete beginner at tin whistles.

Of course I'd be happy about another few online tutorials, too.

Thank you for your help,
Tikva
MoonMind
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by MoonMind »

I'm a beginner myself (already suffering from WhOAd, heavily...), but I've found those two sites/pages pretty helpful: And of course, there's a load of useful information here on the boards and on the Chiff & Fipple site...

I hear good things about the tutorial that comes with a Clarke original (the whistle's worth owning, too...).

M.
brewerpaul
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by brewerpaul »

For the beginner, my favorite tutor is Bill Ochs' "The Clarke Tinwhistle". It starts right from scratch, assuming that you know nothing about reading music. If you follow the book lesson by lesson, listening to the CD examples, you'll learn how to read music on the treble clef, play simple tunes and very gradually progress up through fully ornamented reels, jigs, hornpipes, American fiddle tunes etc.
LE McCullough's tutor is really good too, and eventually you'll want both, although I think a rank beginner will find the Ochs set a bit easier
Got wood?
http://www.Busmanwhistles.com
Let me custom make one for you!
Gecko

Post by Gecko »