Don't You Hate It When Your Head Explodes?

Our first forum for instruments you don't blow.
crookedtune
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Don't You Hate It When Your Head Explodes?

Post by crookedtune »

Well, I've been playing 5-string banjo for 25 years, so few 'things-banjo' surprise me.

Yesterday I came home to find the nice skin head on my 1928 Tu-Ba-Phone split like Johnny Cash's pants. I keep it pretty tight, and I guess the humidity was down to 30% or so, but that's never been an issue before.

So.....if they make them in a size 11-13/16", I intend to try one of the new Remo Renaissance heads. Old-time players seem to love 'em. Has anyone here every tried one?
Charlie Gravel

“I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying.”
― Oscar Wilde
Tim2723

Re: Don't You Hate It When Your Head Explodes?

Post by Tim2723 »

I haven't tried one on my five-banger, but I tried it on my Irish tenor. Didn't like it there. I still have it, and my five-string is the same size as my tenor, so I'll experiment someday. I prefer Fiberskyn. Don't know about the sizes, sorry. They get really high ratings on banjohangout though, so why not give it a shot. It's not a whole lot of money, and you might just love it. The great thing about banjos is that you can try so many things to get different sounds. Strings, heads, bridges, tensions, picks, tailpiece angles.....a real tinkerer's instrument.
The crwth will set you free!

Tim Smith
Kindred Spirit
www.kspirit.info
Thomaston

Post by Thomaston »

I liked the sound of the ren head when I was playing clawhammer. I don't care so much for the jaundice look, though.
Tim2723

Post by Tim2723 »