scottish music

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
chayim
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

scottish music

Post by chayim »

Hi. I played fiddle for 7 years before I started learning Wooden flute. One of the things I got really into on the fiiddle was cape breton and Scottish music. Especially the Strathspeys. (I'm listening to Jerry Holland right now). Anyway...Do people play wooden flute in Cape Breton or Scottish traditional music? I have only heard fiddle and piano thus far, and occasionally pipes of some sort.
-daniel
groxburgh

Re: scottish music

Post by groxburgh »

chayim wrote:Do people play wooden flute in Cape Breton or Scottish traditional music?
Yes.
You could do worse than start reading here:
http://www.theflow.org.uk/styles/styles_scotland.html

Cheers
Graeme
caitlin ruadh

Post by caitlin ruadh »

You'd think being a DJ for fifteen years I'd know the answer to that question, but I don't! What sticks in my mind is what Cape Breton Fiddler J.P. Cormier told me once when I mentioned to him that my flute playing sounded a lot more like Cape Breton music than ITM: "Play what you want and how you are." So I imagine even if it isn't "traditional" by the normal definition of the word, Flute playing in Cape Breton music is fine.

There are lots of Scottish bands that use Flute. Skydance, Old Blind Dogs, Kornog (Breton and Scottish Hybrid), to name a few. So play what your heart tells you.

My 2p

Caitlin
Tjones

Post by Tjones »

Here a link for you Calum Stewart: http://www.myspace.com/calumfrancisstewart :)
chas
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by chas »

Look up Chris Norman. He does a lot more than Scottish and Cape Breton music, but you can tell he's really at home playing it. He is to strathspeys on the flute as Bonnie Rideout is to strathspeys on the fiddle. I never really understood the strathspey till I heard Ms Rideout play one.
Charlie
Whorfin Woods