A good next key for a whistle?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Fifthtry
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

A good next key for a whistle?

Post by Fifthtry »

I'm a newbie who only has a high D whistle, and I only play Irish Traditional Music (so far). So, I'm in the early stages of what appears to be (based on this board) an addiction that only gets worse. Fine.

What would be a good next key whistle to get? For example, I could get a C, which would let me play the D dorian and A minor tunes. I could get a G. I can play G on my high D whistle, but getting a G whistle would let me start an octave lower, yes? I could get . . .

I realize this is a broad Q, but is there any such thing as a "usual" method of progression when acquiring different keyed whistles for Irish trad music?

Thanks for any wisdom.

John
jim stone

Re: A good next key for a whistle?

Post by jim stone »

A usual method of progression (not nec rational but not atypical) is
D to C to Bb to (A or G) to low D to flute.
Pyroh

Post by Pyroh »

Fifthtry wrote:I'm a newbie who only has a high D whistle, and I only play Irish Traditional Music (so far). So, I'm in the early stages of what appears to be (based on this board) an addiction that only gets worse. Fine.

What would be a good next key whistle to get? For example, I could get a C, which would let me play the D dorian and A minor tunes. I could get a G. I can play G on my high D whistle, but getting a G whistle would let me start an octave lower, yes? I could get . . .

I realize this is a broad Q, but is there any such thing as a "usual" method of progression when acquiring different keyed whistles for Irish trad music?

Thanks for any wisdom.

John
Pray tell, wouldn't it be better to use Search function? Wasting e-paper and all that...
MTGuru
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by MTGuru »