The flute player IS a bagpipe

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Mettadore
antispam: No

The flute player IS a bagpipe

Post by Mettadore »

I thought I'd share an interesting discussion I had with my amazing PDX flute teacher, Jan Deweese, yesterday. We were talking about the structure and technique of Celtic, and speficially Irish, music. (Remembering that I'm relatively new to this music) I told him that I was listening to Seamus Ennis on bagpipe and it struct me that all the rolls and cuts were there because, well, you can't actually stop a bagpipe. Once you start, you gotta ride that train to the end! So you need to punctuate the song with articulation where elsewhere you'd punctuate with, perhaps, silence.

Right, not news to you, but a pretty damn cool discovery for me!

I asked if that's why we play the flute the way we do- because we're playing music that was made for the bagpipe. His response was even more than that. We're not only playing music made for the bagpipe, we are, in essence, trying to be a bagpipe- at least as close to a bagpipe as possible.

Our flute is the chanteur, our lungs are the bag, our diaphragm is the bellows.

Of course, we have to breath, and breathing breaks the rhythm of the bagpipe, it can halt that train. So our job as flute players is to find places where breathing doesn't stop the rhythm, but rather helps to propel it. To keep that train rolling to the end. We have a responsibility to find places where our breath is no more than a cut, a rhythmic addition, rather than just a disconnected biological necessity.