Shadow Pickup Problems - Please Help

Our first forum for instruments you don't blow.
ISU Trout Bum
antispam: No

Shadow Pickup Problems - Please Help

Post by ISU Trout Bum »

Hi All:

To begin with, I want to offer a BIG disclaimer - I'm a complete piker when it comes to the use of pickups, amps, et. al. This is my first attempt. I know even less about electricity. That said, I really tried to do my homework, and thought that I had made a decent decision before purchasing anything. Nevertheless, here goes:

1) I have a Washburn M-ISDL/TR Mandolin (http://www.washburn.com/acoustics/m-1sdl/)
2) I purchased a Shadow SH 926 Bridge Piezo Pickup that I installed on the mandolin (http://www.shadow-electronics.com/viewp ... _id=&id=42)
3) I plug it into a Genz-Benz Shenandoah Jr. Acoustic Amplifier (http://www.genzbenz.com/img/manuals/gb/shenjrmanual.pdf)

After I bought the pickup and amp, I brought them home, installed the pickup and plugged it into the amp. From the outset I had feedback - sort of a hum - but noticed that when I clasped the metal on the male end of the plug coming out of the pickup (see the picture at Shadow Electronics, above) between my thumb and index finger, the humming would stop (almost as if I was grounding it or something). I messed around with the equalizer on the amp thinking that maybe I had the Mid Freq (or one of the others) turned up too high. But I could never get it to go away, no matter what I did. So I took it back to the store thinking it was malfunctioning. I even plugged it into 3 or 4 amps he had in the store to show him that I wasn't smoking crack. Anyway, he ordered me another one. I picked it up today, installed it, and guess what . . . the same problem.

I have searched in vain on the web for fixes to this problem, but have found nothing. I'm about to pull my stinking hair out. I simply don't know how to troubleshoot this. If anyone has any info at all that might be helpful, I am ALL ears.

Thanks in advance!!!!

Best
Trout