So how do you....

For all instruments -- please read F.A.Q. before posting.
toasterburn
antispam: No

So how do you....

Post by toasterburn »

...get good at the traditional stuff? I've been playing pennywhistles for a little over a year now and I can do all the basics and I know a handfull of modern tunes, but I still get jealous when I browse youtube and see people playing the fast irish music.

I know nothing about irish music at all, but I love the way it sounds. So how do most people go about learning these songs? Seems to fast to learn by ear, and I can't read music fast enough to keep up with songs like that.
plunk111
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Love playing trumpet and modern flute at church as well as Irish trad flute in a band. Been playing Irish trad and 18th century period music for about 15 years.

Re: So how do you....

Post by plunk111 »

OK - I'll be first...

PRACTICE!!!

I've been playing Irish flute for 2+ years, usually almost an hour a day, and still have some of the same problems your talking about! Trust me - it'll come with practice... Oh yeah - more standard advice: listen to ITM as much as possible and get with others of like mind as much as you can.

Does that cover it?

Pat
Pat Plunkett, Wheeling, WV
Denny

Post by Denny »

play back a recording and use the player to slow it down

most, if not many, players are capable of slowing down the tune without changing the pitch.
many can change the pitch also, but it is separate from the speed (wha'ts nice if yer tuning is different than theirs)

ASD allows you to select a sub portion of the tune and loop through it with a user defined pause between loops

Best Practice is much like ASD

Audacity will do much the same thing, abet using different techniques, and it supports recording.
It is free & if you don't have something that records and edits and is better.....