My DIY whistles

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
drumbent
antispam: No

My DIY whistles

Post by drumbent »

Hello all, a newbie / lurker here.

A bit of a preamble - I'll start off by saying I'm not really into whistles for the traditional aspect. I make my living as a drummer / percussionist, and also play some keys and winds. I'm always looking for instruments to increase my sonic palette, and while I respect where some designs come from and their traditional use, I'm more into discovering my own thing on them.

I have always loved the low-pitched instruments, having played bass clarinet, bassoon, and bari sax in my past (I have a lovely silverplate 1923 Beuscher hiding under the bed that may see the light of day again if I get the urge). So of course I'm drawn to the lower whistles, which sound gorgeous. I looked at some of the DIY info on the Net, including going back through three years of discussion on this forum (thanks so much to those that imparted their knowledge and wisdom). But I thought naw, I'll buy a Low D and be done with it. But my order for a Susato through a Canadian dealer fell through, so I took that as a sign from the universe that perhaps I should try and make one after all.

But make one? Why not a whole bunch? :D My first two were made from the frame tubing of old bicycles. I've been helping run our local community bike recycling shop for years and thought it'd be cool to make an instrument from the scrap parts, and here was my chance. The first one was just a test, as I wanted to try out the excellent exofipple idea, and it worked! So the next one was made from the top tube of an old bike of mine that had been hit by a taxi (I hate taxi drivers). It's a tad challenged aesthetically, but it's in G (tenor) and sounds quite nice. Then I made one from an old aluminum broom handle, then out of PVC.

I've posted the details to my blog:

http://drumbent.blogspot.com/2010/09/di ... stles.html