Second octave tuning on simple 6-hole flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
JimmyThePiper
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Second octave tuning on simple 6-hole flute

Post by JimmyThePiper »

Hi,

I have been making 6-hole PVC and Bamboo flutes for a few months now and am having problems with the second octave :(

I have read several tips ans suggestions on how to get a full, in tune second octave in tune but so far I have failed to get it just right.

Sticking with the pvc ones where one is sure of the thickness and shape of the whole tube, I have been using a somewhat modified version of the flutomat script to calculate hole positions and lately all of them have a lip plate (of sorts) to make it easier on the embouchure.

It seems in concert (metal with all the keys :P) flutes octave tuning is done with both a slightly cone shaped tube at the head going all the way to the tuning pin (of I remember correctly) and positioning of the cork.

I can't alter the cylinder size of the tube and the cork position doesn't seem to alter the tuning of the second octave much (I've read its mostly for third octave).

I have also read that one can alter the tuning of the second octave by creating a "depression" inside the tube (removing material) at a specified place. (http://www.navaching.com/shaku/second.html) But its a tip for a Shakuhachi, which is in a pentatonic scale (not to mention hole positions seem to matter)...

I tried it anyway but it kept giving me the first 2-3 notes too low (just tried it today, ill still fiddle with it, seems to have promise).

So, here's my question:
How is the second octave tuned in traditional 6-hole wooden Irish flutes?

any help would be greatly appreciated :)
Pipers blow harder, finger faster, squeeze tighter and drone louder!
Sigurthr

Re: Second octave tuning on simple 6-hole flute

Post by Sigurthr »