beginner - squeeky high notes, but only on some whistles?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
gregwhistle
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

beginner - squeeky high notes, but only on some whistles?

Post by gregwhistle »

Hello-

So I'm a rank beginner ... though I think I'm progressing not too horrifically considering that I have no instruction and little time to practice :)

Anyway, the problem. I am able to get decent sounding high notes (the upper octave) on a "Clarke Original Penny Whistle", key of D.

I am not able to get decent sounding high notes on three other whistles:

Waltons Little Black Tin Whistle in D

Waltons Irish Penny Whistle Key of C

Freeman Whistle Tweaked C Sweetone

So either 1. I have really bad luck with whistles, or 2. I'm doing something wrong (but which still happens to work on the Clarke original), or 3. ???

Open to any suggestions as to what to try :)
Pipe Bender
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Re: beginner - squeeky high notes, but only on some whistles?

Post by Pipe Bender »

I have had a Waltons Irish and a Sweetone, but have never tried a Little Black D or the Clarke Original. In any case, some whistles require much more breath than others and I believe the Clarke Original is one that does. Also it is not uncommon for some whistles to really need that extra boost of breath for the high A and B notes and I don't know if the Clarke original falls into this category or not.

Having said this, my first thought is to try not blowing the second octave as hard for the other 3 whistles as you do for the Clarke Original.

I am sure someone who is familiar with the Clarke Original will help with a posting soon.
AvienMael

Post by AvienMael »

Breath control. Your Clarke is apt to be more forgiving than the three other whistles you have listed. Be patient, practice. It will come, and shortly thereafter, it will come naturally. :)
Playing, not paying.