Tenor banjo question, intonation and where to rest wrist

Our first forum for instruments you don't blow.
Rhadge

Tenor banjo question, intonation and where to rest wrist

Post by Rhadge »

Hello.

I'm new to the banjo and uncertain where to rest the right-hand wrist when playing, if at all?
Been watching youtube videos, but can't really see how the players do it.
I've tried resting my wrist on the bridge, which makes it easier to play triplets but on the other hand it seems to mute the skin. But maybe the skin is supposed to be a bit muted, so that the sound remains crisp and short?

And another question I have, is about the sound that bounces from the skin.
The G, D and A strings have good intonation and the pitch from the skin is roughly the same as from the string.
When playing the C string though, I get a slightly lower pitch from the skin.
Could this be due to the bridge position being a bit off, or could it be a worse problem?

Hope someone can assist me
Last edited by Rhadge on Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
Rob Sharer
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1
Location: Either NC, Co. Clare, or Freiburg i.B., depending...

Re: Tenor banjo question, intonation and where to rest wrist

Post by Rob Sharer »

If you contact the bridge or head with your picking hand, you will mute the banjo. This certainly isn't going to give you that snappy Irish tone we all know and love.

Your right hand should float above the bridge without touching. Watch this clip of the great Marcus Moloney playing and note how his arm only contacts the arm-rest.

Rob
Rhadge

Post by Rhadge »

Great vid. I guess it will take longer for me to learn banjo than I thought, being used to resting my wrist against the bridge when playing guitar.
I could swear though that Barney MacKenna mutes the skin repeatedly in this video (for example at 1:15): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p8HSw_t-G8