question about clotted cream

Socializing and general posts on wide-ranging topics. Remember, it's Poststructural!
mathyou9
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

question about clotted cream

Post by mathyou9 »

For you folks from the British Isles, what is the consistency of clotted cream supposed to be? Thickness- and consistency-wise, is it closer to sour cream? Refrigerated butter? Room-temperature butter?

It's not readily available in the USA (except at specialty import shops [where it's way over-priced]) so I have no real experience using it. I purchased some of the over-priced imported stuff once. Although it is from England, something tells me that it's nothing like what you can pick up locally in England. This clotted cream I purchased poured just like syrup (kind of goes against what I read in a particular scone recipe that says "put a dollop of clotted cream." I don't know about you, but I have a really hard time imagining creating a "dollop" with something syrupy.)

I tried making it myself once. At room temperature it was nice and "dollop-y." But once refrigerated, it thickened up like [refrigerated] butter. I'm making a second batch from a slightly different recipe (it's still in the works so I'm not sure how this batch will turn out.)
Last edited by mathyou9 on Wed Apr 18, 2012 5:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
benhall.1
Tell us something.: I'm a fiddler and, latterly, a fluter. I love the flute. I wish I'd always played it. I love the whistle as well. I'm blessed in having really lovely instruments for all of my musical interests.
Location: Unimportant island off the great mainland of Europe

Re: question about clotted cream

Post by benhall.1 »