Review of Guo Tocco Flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
khal

Review of Guo Tocco Flute

Post by khal »

I didn’t want to post this under the “Environmentally Friendly” thread because in this review I won’t be addressing the environmental issue.

The Guo Tocco flute is a student level Boehm-style polymer flute from Guo of Taiwan. I have no connection to that company or any dealer.

My Reason for Buying It - I wanted a Boehm-style flute that I could leave out and assembled without tarnishing. I know tarnish doesn’t affect the sound of a flute, but it bugs me.

Impressions:

1.) Tone – It’s not a silver flute. A silver flute has a certain resonance to it. It gets on my nerves after a while. This flute sounds more like a wooden flute and I’m glad of that.

2.) Playability – I’m a lousy musician, but I press on. This flute is very easy to play, mostly because of #3.

3.) Comfort –This is a big issue for me. The Tocco is light as a feather. It has a raised pad on the G key which makes for a comfortable hand position, at least for my smallish hands. The body material is textured so it’s easy to hold on to.

4.) Aesthetics – I got the “Aquamarine” color, which is really more like light slate grey. I think it’s really elegant and sophisticated looking, but I like the clean modern look. The case carries the flute fully assembled. It is metal with clear top and bottom, so you can see the flute. Might help with the TSA. The case sits in a bag, also with clear top and bottom, and a shoulder strap. Altogether it’s pretty chic.

5.) Price – About the same as the Yamaha student flute. The price is fair.

6.) Durability – Seems solid. Time will tell.

7.) Convenience – You can leave it assembled and out of the case. The headjoint can be cleaned with soapy water when needed and the body wiped with alcohol.

8.) Negatives – I can’t seem to push it too hard.

9.) Other – For me, the flute has a fun aura. It’s a happy toot.