old squeaky whistle – repair or tweaking possible?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
German Whistler
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

old squeaky whistle – repair or tweaking possible?

Post by German Whistler »

As the title shows, I need some help with an old squeaky whistle.
Hopefully I can repair or tweak it?
Or maybe there`s nothing wrong with the whistle and its just me ;-) (cause i am a beginner)

Ok, first, i have to tell you, its not an expansive whistle, its "just" a walton brass d whistle, but please don’t recomment to throw it away and get a new one, I never would throw it away, specialy not cause its my first whistle. (but i may get a new one aditional to compare if needed)

So whats the problem?
It squieks!
Maybe it always did and I didn’t notice cause it was my only whistle, but since I play other whistle too, I notice now.
So, maybe its just a little bitch, wich is complicated to blow, but i am sure it sqiueks now more than it did before (maybe just jealous). But maybe its cause its age, (over 12 years) and some dirt anywhere (even if I cleand it very well)
Its nearly not possible to tounge the lower tones d,e, and f, are just possible to tounge when done very soft and gently, and with a lot of breath-control and even than, sometimes it squiecks (that’s surely me than)
Maybe waltons always like to squieck a bit? but this one realy LOVE to squiek

Here is a soundfile
Scale up and down without tounging – NO Problem
(for my untrained ears it sounds good)
http://www.andreas-fischer-privat.de/no ... tons-1.wav

another soundfile Here WITH tounging
- first hard tounging – lower part of the scale up and down
- than very soft tounging _ lower part of scale up and down
- at last only „d“, both, soft and hard tounging
http://www.andreas-fischer-privat.de/no ... tons-2.wav
(for my ears very squiecky at d, e and even f)