Flute Tuning problems

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
zipper12
antispam: No

Flute Tuning problems

Post by zipper12 »

Hi Everyone,

I have a Martin Doyle flute with a tuning slide and I have been playing for nearly ten years now. I have become reasonably accomplished. Playing in county and provincial competitions. I play in a band and I am constantly made to feel like I'm holding the band back because of my flutes tuning.
The problem has always been there and I know it is a necessary evil in the case of flutes to an extent, however it has gotten to the stage now where I am being told to use another band members Grinter keyed flute (lah dee da....) I am then expected to produce the very same tone and sound as usual with a new flute that is thrust upon me at every practice, and that has keys that I keep annoyingly hitting.
It has gotten to the stage where I have younger band members explaing to me how to tune a flute... :shock: and people telling me to "learn the tunes" that I know to near perfection. :-? It is embarassing after all my time practicing. I amn't enjoying playing at all like I used to. I was also expected to be a master at using keys in a new reel last week depite the fact tht I have never used keys before. How long does it take to get used to keys? :-?
People have made insightful comments like "your flute is out of tune with its self..." etc.
I have also been told that since my flute isn't as long as other flutes it is more prone to go out of tune. Does this make any sense? Sometimes my high notes are in tune and my low notes are out after the flute being warmed up etc. Is there any logical explanation for this?
I'd appreciate any "constructive" feedback guys. Unfortunatey as a student living in a country that is stone broke I amn't in the position to invest in a new flute.....I wouldn't get a keyed Grinter anyhows!!!!(sooooo heavy)
Thanks a mill,
Is mise le meas,
Zipper12