Keys for playing in Church

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Mikethebook
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Keys for playing in Church

Post by Mikethebook »

Those of you playing in church worship teams, I've been asked to join ours and am both excited and, as a relative beginner, daunted by it. I have a fixed and very limited budget for whistles, fast running out. Low and high Ds are the obvious first choices but what intermediate key(s) after that, given I don't want to have to learn a bunch of new fingerings so I need to be able to transpose choruses and hymns into D fingerings.
hoopy mike
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Keys for playing in Church

Post by hoopy mike »

Hi

This question has been asked before here. It rather depends on what sort of music your church is using and how flexible the other musicians in the band are.

I've played / led music at events where we've managed to play everything in D and G, partly to fit in with the whistle, but also to give a good flow between songs. Conversely, playing in a different church, I now have whistles in just about every key, including C#.