GHP Chanter Whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
hans
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

GHP Chanter Whistle

Post by hans »

I've made my first chanter whistle, on request of a musician in Colorado, who plays Highland bagpipes and wanted a whistle playing in the same key with similar fingering than the GHP chanter. He received the whistle and is happy with it, so I though I share this.

The whistle is in the key of Bb Mixolydian, with additional low seventh ('Ab' below Bb) and eight finger holes including thumb hole for first octave Bb, as the GHP chanter (a scale of Ab Bb C D Eb F G Ab Bb, nominally in chanter notation called G A B C D E F G A [where sharps of C and F are implied]) . Fingering is half-open, as the chanter, so the fifth, sixth, seventh and octave note need R1, R2 and R3 closed. The idea is that you can play your pipe tunes the same way on the whistle as on the chanter. I am not a piper, and I am not fluent in this way of fingering, so I did not record a sample. But the tone of the whistle is like my standard Bb and A whistles. I voiced it a bit louder in the bottom octave, as the second octave most likely would not be used.

Bb chanter whistle with silver lip plate:
Last edited by hans on Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MTGuru

Re: GHP Chanter Whistle

Post by MTGuru »

hans wrote:The whistle is in the key of Bb Mixolydian, with additional low seventh ('A' below Bb)
Would that be Ab below Bb?
Vivat diabolus in musica! MTGuru's (old) GG Clips / Blackbird Clips

Joel Barish: Is there any risk of brain damage?
Dr. Mierzwiak: Well, technically speaking, the procedure is brain damage.
hans
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.