Seeking low whistle advice

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
wayne_rowley
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Seeking low whistle advice

Post by wayne_rowley »

Hello,

I have been playing whistles for a couple of years and have (slowly) been improving. I would now like to spend some time focussing on developing my skills with the low D. I currently have a Dixon polymer low D. I have played it on and off but never really got to grips with it. I do have very small hands with slender fingers and have struggled, even with pipers grip to consistently cover the bottom two holes. I can play it, but tire quickly and often end up with painful fingers or wrist, and frustrated at the frequent unclean notes!

As I said though I want to spend time improving specifically on the low whistle. I am thinking of getting a different low whistle, for a number of reasons. Although the dixon is nice, it is very quiet. I sometimes play in the worship group at church and just cannot hear myself (sometimes with the high d let alone the low). I would like something louder for when I feel comfortable enough to play the low D at church. The other reason is tone. My favourite low D tone is the 'Overton' sound. The dixon is nice but not quite there, and there is little scope for expression - it jumps octave quickly when breath changes. I will keep the Dixon as a practice whistle anyway.

I have researched whistles online but cannot easily try them in person. I am interested in Goldie, Mk, chieftain or the Onyx ( left field ).

My questions (finally I hear you say):

- Given my hand size issues would a Goldie be impracticable or too hard to master? I am willing to practice, but if he the laws of physics just won't allow me to play it well then I wonder whether if would be the right choice.