Half-holing for a novice

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
joeryan
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Half-holing for a novice

Post by joeryan »

Hey,

I'm new at the tin whistle, and I'm working on Ashokan Farewell. The music I'm following calls for half-holing an E. (xxxx^o)

I'm finding it tough to hit that note consistently. Is there way to do it without half-holing? If not, any advice on half-holing technique?

Thanks and best,

Joe
O'Briant

Re: Half-holing for a novice

Post by O'Briant »

Hi Joe, and welcome. Re half-holing, my thoughts: the temptation early on with half-holing is to put your (in this case right middle) finger tip directly on half (or less) of the hole to get the right note. Practice instead keeping your (again right middle) finger straight and setting it at an angle to the edge of the hole (your finger will touch the edge of the hole/whistle probably somewhere between the first (farthest out) and second joint of the finger, depending on how big your hands are). Once you figure out the right angle for the tone you want, then you just have to remember that angle and put your straight finger at the edge of the hole to get the half-hole note. That approach makes half-holing a lot faster and more consistent. If you're already doing it that way, then it's just practice and muscle memory to get the angle right. My two bits.

Briant
Last edited by O'Briant on Thu May 01, 2014 3:37 pm, edited 3 times in total.
"Every ass likes to hear itself bray." Mark Twan
tenorTim

Post by tenorTim »

Hey Joe, welcome to the whistling world!

Some tunes are just plain inconvenient for the whistle, and it seems this is one of them :puppyeyes: I'm not sure what key the source music you're looking at is in, or what key your whistle is in, but I assume high D.