"Fish and Whistle" by John Prine

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
HJ51
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

"Fish and Whistle" by John Prine

Post by HJ51 »

Hello, I’m a novice whistler but am very interested in playing this song on the penny whistle. I’m willing to put in the work but need some advice so I don’t start learning it wrong.

Do the solos on this song go up into the third octave? To my untrained ear they do, based on where they start (which I think is the second octave). You can listen to the song here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G487EDeXadA

The whistle part starts around 1:10 but the solos I'm talking about start at 1:48 and 2:45.

Assuming they are in the highest octave, I am having a lot of trouble sounding those notes. They are just non-melodic high-pitched screeches…barely notes at all. I'm sure there are other threads about playing hight notes, but here are my specific and personal questions as a beginner (again assuming that those are high, 3rd-octave notes).

1. Is it not worth it? If I’m a beginner, should I just work around this because, while possible, I would really have to elevate myself to an advanced whistle player before I could hope for good sound at that register?

2. I am using the same fingering for the third octave as for the second. Should I change fingering, and will that help (realistically) or is answer to question #1 still probably the same?

3. Will buying a high-end whistle help hit higher notes? Will it help SIGNIFICANTLY or is it mostly tehnique?

4. Am I even right about what notes they are in this song?

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to answer these questions!
MTGuru

Re: "Fish and Whistle" by John Prine

Post by MTGuru »

Hi, and welcome to the board!

That whistle part is played in D fingering on a high G whistle - probably a Generation G, given the recording date (1978).