Back D problem

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
johnnyboi
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Back D problem

Post by johnnyboi »

Hi guys. I'm new to uilleann piping and adjusting reeds etc and hoped to find a solution to my reed issue that has prevented me playing properly for so long now.

Basically, I have a sinking back D, which starts (with normal pressure) very sharp, but can be flattened with more pressure to the correct pitch. However, with only slightly more pressure again (the kind of pressure I use for high E, F etc) it instantly drops to a C-natural! This diagram sort of explains:

The sweet spot where the D is the correct pitch is so small that normal playing is virtually impossible, especially if the second octave is involved.

I've tried raising the bridle, seating the reed further in, and checking for leaks at the sides of the reed. Any suggestions? I don't think it can't simply be a dud reed: I had four of them made, by someone who works regularly with my maker (Adrian Jefferies), and they all do it.
Last edited by johnnyboi on Mon Jun 09, 2014 11:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Tom_S
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Re: Back D problem

Post by Tom_S »

It sounds like you've got two problems - 1) a sinking back D with too much pressure 2) a sharp back D - both of which could possibly be the reed(s). I'm a real novice myself, but if the bridle on my reed isn't adjusted properly I can get a sinking back D as well. One thing you could do is put a bit of tape over part of the hole, which should flatten the note. Doesn't fix the sinking issue, but it might be a stop-gap to help with the sharpness of the note.
johnnyboi

Post by johnnyboi »

Hmm thanks Tom, you might be right... although the completely different note I get with more pressure again probably makes a third problem then!
geoff wooff

Post by geoff wooff »