Dry throat when playing flute.

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Dry throat when playing flute.

Post by AngelicBeaver »

I'm a low whistle player, but I'd like to be able to play flute as well, for variety, but I've found that my throat dries out while I'm playing flute for any extended period of time, meaning more than just a few minutes. This never happens when I play whistle. Is there something I should be doing to prevent this? The only thing that helps is to stop and drink some water, but my throat is uncomfortably scratchy by the time I finish the next tune.
Nathaniel James Dowell
Feadoggie

Re: Dry throat when playing flute.

Post by Feadoggie »

AngelicBeaver wrote:Is there something I should be doing to prevent this?
Practice, practice, practice ... and work to develop a focused and efficient embouchure.

It's hard to say what may be going on without watching you play but my guess is that you are using to much air - both in and out - drying out the throat in the process. A bit too much huffing and puffing might be at play. It's not uncommon in the early stages with the flute or if you are an occasional player. If you don't have the same issue on a low D, say, then I'm guessing you need to work a bit more on your embouchure to tighten it up some. The flute is a very efficient instrument compared to a whistle and should require less air. You should be able to play longer phrases between breaths on the flute. But mind you this is just a guess on my part.