Contacting Burke and/or Colin Goldie

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
PiperMike904
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Contacting Burke and/or Colin Goldie

Post by PiperMike904 »

I'm new to this page and have been playing the whistle and uilleann pipes for a little less than a year. At the advice of a few about a year ago, I ordered an eight dollar acorn D whistle off of Amazon for me to start learning pennywhistle while my pipes were being made.

I find myself now wanting to learn tunes on the whistle before learning them on the pipes. Being that I play the whistle and practice it quite a bit recently, I would like to upgrade to something nicer. I've basically narrowed my research to Colin Goldie and Burke.

I made attempts to contact both makers. Goldie I very recently wrote an email to so I'm waiting. Burke, it's been two weeks. I'm actually ready to place an order but need information and have questions before I place my order. Has anyone had issues contacting these makers?

I want a higher end D whistle and a low D. The sound of the low D whistle fascinates me.

1. what is the difference between Burkes EZ and pro viper?

2. I don't play professionally but I may participate in sessions when my skill becomes a little better. Is it better for me to get a narrow bore or session whistle? Also Goldies website does not differentiate. Would Goldie's regular D whistles be like a session or narrow bore?

I apologize if any of this information is been posted somewhere before. If it has could someone kindly provide links to where I may research this information?

Also if these makers do not respond to my inquiries, is it safe to place an order with them?
MTGuru

Re: Contacting Burke and/or Colin Goldie

Post by MTGuru »

To contact Colin Goldie you can try an e-mail or PM to Brigitte, who is a poster here:

memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=1581