3D Whistle Printing?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
GoldTop
antispam: No

3D Whistle Printing?

Post by GoldTop »

Let's say I own a Copeland Low D (or any whistle or flute). Why don't I 3D map it and 3D print my Copeland in polymer (delrin)? :D

Any copyright laws in play?

Just thinking aloud.
Feadoggie

Re: 3D Whistle Printing?

Post by Feadoggie »

GoldTop wrote:Any copyright laws in play?
We've discussed this before, a few times. You can do a search.

I am not a lawyer. I do make whistles the old fashioned way. And I have been dabbling in 3D printing whistles as well and using the drawings to produce molds. I prefer to work from my own designs.

Basically, I would argue that what you describe it is not good form. Laws may be another matter.

Michael is still alive and he is still making whistles. I do run into him every year or two but not as often as I once did. He would be harmed if you copied his work I would think. And I think he would be successful if he had to argue that in court. Why wouldn't you ask him about doing that and split the profits and rights to the resulting drawings, files, etc.?

Let's say you were to take a Generation head, even tweak it a bit and then model that. I would not think that is good form either. Might not be against a law but Generation whistles would suffer and be materially damaged. I would expect legal action.

If you have a Rudall-Rose flute and scan that it might be another matter. Someone may own the rights to the design but I do not know. Drawings are available of several 19th century flutes. The makers are long gone. Who are you gonna harm with that?

But ... we all stand on the shoulders of giants. As Chris Abell said,
Chris Abell on C&F wrote:First of all, my philosophy is that there really are no trade secrets.
Once someone has an instrument of mine, they have all my "secrets" in
their hand. I will usually answer any questions concerning dimensions and